Sogginess explained

After writing about my soggy run yesterday, I wondered whether it was due simply to the weather and the puddles on the path, or whether perhaps my current training plan was misguided. However, it turned out that there was another explanation. I awoke in the early hours of the morning with a sore throat and by mid-morning I have sore ears and blocked nose in addition. So the sogginess of yesterday’s run was almost certainly due to an incubating cold.

Could my training regime, with its back-to-back effortful sessions have weakened my resistance to infection? I doubt it. Several colleagues at work had colds on Friday and my son has been complaining of a sore throat all week. My pulse was higher than usual during warm-up, so the early signs of the impending cold preceded yesterday’s 2K interval session. Thursday and Friday had been light training days as planned. So, if my training is in any way responsible for my current symptoms, it might at most be blamed for undermining the last strands of my resistance to a cold bug that was already winning its battle to take over my upper airways. Although it is a nuisance to have a cold, it is re-assuring to know that my struggle to do the 2K repeats in 9:15 says little about my potential 10K pace. However, I am aware that my current endurance is rather limited, so I have some work to do before I can expect to run a good 10K.

What should I do today? The main priority is recovering from the cold, so I will definitely not persist with my plan to do a fairly long run including a moderately fast 5 K. That will have to wait until next week. I will go for a very easy run instead.

Leave a Reply

