Cautiously graded exercise

After not running for several days, I decided that tonight I would do a short run of about 5Km, including a few stride-outs.  By the time I got home from work it was around 8pm, almost dark, and the rain was pelting down.  However once I had my trainers on, I was eager to go.

The chilly gust of wind that greeted me as I opened the door sent me back inside to put on a long sleeved top – undoubtedly summer has ended.   Because the last glimmer of daylight was fading rapidly, I decided to run on the sidewalk rather than my usual path along the river bank.  After a short distance I passed a young woman jogger who was dressed or perhaps more accurately, un-dressed, for mid-summer, with a large expanse of bare mid-riff between her skimpy top and shorts. As the wind whipped the rain against my face I was quite glad I had gone back for a long sleeved top, even though it was already quite soggy.

During the stride-outs over a distance of 200-300 metres at a pace of around 4:45 per Km, I managed to remain fairly relaxed, though to have run any faster would have been quite effortful.  Afterwards I thought ruefully that 4:45 was a little slower the pace I had originally intended for the half-marathon next week.  That goal is now unthinkable, but I at present I am happy that the fatigue of the past few weeks seems to be gradually receding and I am still running.

4 Responses to “Cautiously graded exercise”

  1. Ewen Says:

    That’s good news!

    I’ll be thinking of you as our daylight hours gradually lengthen and the bare mid-riff look becomes increasingly popular.

  2. ajh Says:

    Like Ewen, I too am looking forward to summer and the local female runners wearing a little less 🙂

  3. RICKS RUNNING Says:

    iTS QUITE POSSIBLE FOR A DISTANCE RUUNNER TO BECOME ANEMIC EVEN WITHOUT LOSS OF BLOOD, CHECK THIS LINK OUT;

    http://www.anemia.org/patients/feature-articles/content.php?contentid=000244&sectionid=00015

  4. canute1 Says:

    Rick, Thanks for that link. I agree there are many causes of anaemia other than overt blood loss. In fact in my own case, if I am anaemic I think it would most likely be associated with my bout of illness in June, though I have wondered from time to time how much blood I lose through excessive bruising.
    When I took up running again in middle age I did experience substantial foot strke hemolysis for several months – the released hemoglobin was evident in my urine However that stopped after a few months – presumably because the soles of my feet toughened up, but it is possible I still suffer covert blood loss as a result of foot strike hemolysis.
    However despite all of these possibilies, I am inclined to think that my current problem is not due to anaemia. I would expect mild or moderate anaemia to produce a higher resting pulse and an increase in the orthostatic effect, However if things don’t improve soon I should have a test for anaemia.

Leave a Reply

